Since 1998 37 European Union Centres have been established in universities all over the world: in the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, South Korea, Singapore and Taiwan. The network is supported by the European External Action Service. In 2011 the list was expanded to incorporate three Centres in Russia: in Kaliningrad, St. Petersburg and Tomsk.

EU Centre in Siberia (EUCES) was established at the Tomsk State University (TSU) and unites TSU and four other prominent universities of the region: Altai State University, Kemerovo State University, Irkutsk State University, Tyumen State University, as well as Novosibirsk State Technical University, an associate partner in this project.


The mission of EUCES is to promote better understanding of EU as a strategic partner of Russia through development and delivery of education, training, research and outreach activities in Siberia. The final beneficiaries of its activities are the local communities of the Siberian Federal District. It targets young people, educational organizations, local authorities, researchers, businessmen, NGOs and other interested people and institutions.


EUCES strives to provide Siberian region with a pool of highly qualified specialists on EU issues and promote general understating of EU experience with a special emphasis on its decision–making process and citizen participation.

Main activities